46 Comments

Hello hello, everyone! I'm Natasha Lipman, a former BBC colleague of Lucy's and current Substack colleague! I write and host The Rest Room, which is all about what it means to live (and live well) with chronic illness. I'm also Content Lead at Visible which is working on the first activity tracking platform for illness not wellness.

I've always been a big fan of Lucy's work and enjoy reading her perspectives!

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by Lucy Webster

Hello! I'm Georgia. I recently became a first time carer :)

I'm here trying to expose myself to a wider range of perspectives and learn about other peoples experiences.

I have found everything I've read so far to be super interesting and I'm looking forward to reading more! 😁

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by Lucy Webster

I'm Paul - a BBC presenter/journalist, and all around Lucy stan. (Web-stan? Needs work.)

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by Lucy Webster

Hi, I'm Alex. I once crashed into Big Ben.

Expand full comment

hey! i run a weekly substack roundup of disability arts and politics happenings: www.cripnews.substack.com. grateful to be discovering other folx on the platform writing about disability!

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by Lucy Webster

Hi, I'm Ania currently in between things😉

I'm here to get to know different perspective and be more aware.

Luc great piece in Guardian! I love to see guest interviews here as well.

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by Lucy Webster

My name is Elaine and I suffer from Rheumatoid Arthritis, Fibromyalgia, Polymyalgia Rheumatica, COPD and Asthma!

I have a beautiful black cat who’s name is CoCo! He comes when called and likes to snuggle!

I have three PSWs a day and the morning one feeds and waters CoCo!

I don’t know what I would do without him! He is my buddy!

I don’t get out much so it’s great that I have my CoCo! He is wonderful! And I love him so much!

He pets my face lovingly! He is a great buddy!!

I enjoy reading your newsletter! Please keep it up!

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by Lucy Webster

Hello! I write about parenting and disability, from the perspective of being the non-disabled mother of a disabled child (soon to be teen). I love reading your writing, hearing your perspective.

Expand full comment

Hello everyone. I'm Richard Morris, a former BBC colleague of Lucy's, still working in Westminster covering the non-stop world of British politics. I started working with Lucy back in the days when we both did live pages for BBC Parliament coverage. I read the newsletter cause, frankly, I've never met anyone else who can have such frank discussions about disability in Britain.

Expand full comment

Hi! I’m Lia, a disabled multidisciplinary artist in Canada. I’m mostly doing fibre arts and writing these days. ( https://linktr.ee/lia_pas ) I only recently subscribed to this newsletter but love it so far!

Expand full comment

Hi! Quigley here, living in Chicago in the US. I am a trans non-binary person with autoimmune disease and PTSD, and I am a trauma informed yoga teacher. I am currently preparing to teach meditation and mindfulness strategies for trans and queer people on a university campus here. Love your work Lucy!

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm Kathryn - I found Lucy via her writing in the Guardian & her Instagram. I'm a proudly Disabled Woman who is also a Wedding Celebrant. As well as marrying lovely folk, I've been running mini campaigns to increase the diversity, representation and inclusion of Disabled People in the Weddings Industry (as Suppliers) but also celebrating couples in love, planning weddings, where one or t'other of them is Disabled. Obviously this comes with the HUGE caveat that I know we don't have marriage equality for Disabled People in the UK. I'm trying to figure out how to start more campaigning and advocacy around that while balancing two jobs and limited spoons! :) Maybe later in the year or next!

If you're curious about what I do generally - you can find out here: www.celebrantkathryn.com.

Expand full comment

Hi, I'm Marleigh and I have the phenomenal privilege of working with Lucy as editor of her INCREDIBLE book (truly, it is brilliant and I can't wait for it to come out into the world.) I love reading Lucy's newsletters and all of her epic journalism.

I work for DK, heading up the narrative non-fiction list here, and get to work with lots of wonderful authors. I also have a tiny Yorkshire terrier, Luna, who is part demon, part sweet angel baby, and I have a slightly unhealthy addiction to yarn-based crafts.

Expand full comment

Hi, I am writing a substack on the intersection of late diagnosed autism and Christianity. (Right now we are talking about how high control religious groups can exploit and traumatize neurodivergent people). It’s quite the niche, but it’s my niche 😂 I love reading newsletters centered on disability and I feel like I have so much to learn and it’s a great time to dive into these topics!

Expand full comment

I commend you for writing about personal experiences. I believe that we bury many of our stories to hide the pain they created. Writing about our lives revisits the deepest part of ourselves we forget what stories we kept buried and which ones people are already aware of. I believe if I'm going to write about something it might as well be about everything. Thank you for your words.

Expand full comment

I’m Linda, a blogger on Substack and a mom to a daughter with cerebral palsy. I have advocated for her for her entire life (she’s 25) and ultimately taught her to advocate for herself. I’ve learned that her disability is hers, not mine, and I can’t control how she thinks about it and how she chooses to go about her life with a disability. She is strong and stubborn and will forever be my hero.

Expand full comment

Hi I’m Claire. Hi Lucy! 👋

I’m not sure how I found Lucys writing 🤔 either through a recommend or through Substack search I think! I’m based on the Northumberland Coast and I’m a creativity mentor and mum to two wonderful children. One was born in the pandemic. My husband has been chronically sick for nearly two years post covid. He climbed mountains before that... like every month. It’s been a lot so we are adjusting to chasing new dreams and taking care of our selves and our allotment garden chickens. ✨🌅

Expand full comment

Hi - I'm Stu, and I'm an architect. I discovered Lucy's writing in the Guardian (not writing about disability), and loved it. I'm a middle-class-middle-aged white-CIS-gender-bloke...but one of the nice ones?! I'm also trying to learn to play guitar, which hurts my fingers.

Expand full comment

D

Expand full comment

Hey! I'm Jem and run Journo Resources where I've been lucky enough to work with Lucy before. Here to learn how to be a better ally!

Expand full comment

Hiya, I’m Chris and I run a site called blindmanwithabackpack.uk talking about my experience with degenerative macular disease and disability. I write about anything from mental health to accessibility and am keen to connect with others in the sight loss and broader disabled community.

A pleasure to meet you all.

Expand full comment

Hi, I'm Becky! I work in the charity sector for an international environment organisation. I've loved following Lucy's work and career over the years since we met at university. I'm here to learn how to be a better disability ally. 🧡

Expand full comment

Hi folks! I'm Laura and currently doing User Experience design certificate. I access the brilliant content that Lucy creates to dive into accessibility issues and gain more in-depth understanding of struggles people face in the digital and real world and solve them with technology in the years to come :)

Expand full comment